Checking in from the Roller Coaster

It is Monday and the past week has left me unsure whether I’m climbing or falling. Each day has been an endless string of ups, downs and even the occasional loop. Unfortunately, this roller coaster is like Disney’s Magic Mountain, shrouded in darkness that hides its twists and turns.

I feel a little lost today. In some ways, I feel like I’m back to square one in search of a home in Whitehaven. I still have dreams of building a home at 1319 Ferguson, but the dream seems to drift further and further into an indeterminate future. Up until today, I had hoped that I would be able to live on the property immediately after purchasing it. Living in a camper while cultivating the land until the resources were in place to build seemed like a great idea, but further research into zoning restrictions have effectively cut that plan short.

So the growing number of obstacles increases by one. It’s hard not to be frustrated. I know where I want to be, but I have no idea how to get there. For tonight, those frustrations muddy the waters of my mind and give rise to my old enemy doubt, but something tells me to persevere. This ride isn’t over yet.

– Kirk

Leave a Reply

