At the Cusp of a Year’s End

Today has afforded me the time to think back over the past year, and, while it looked very little like the year I’d imagined, I am left feeling fulfilled rather than disappointed. God has been good! I am satisfied with the journey of 2014. The twists, turns and stops of days and weeks penning the words of a story. A story I am happy to be a part of.

Here are a few highlights from 2014.

  • I completed Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way, which I’ve picked up and put down several times over the years. It was worth the discipline and effort to finish and I am better for it. More free and more open than I’ve been in many years.
  • Memphis House of Prayer and Justice saw the final design of its logo, new members join the board, the approval of our 501(c)3, the building of some incredible relationships with like minded people and the opening of new doors for service in our community like the after school program at Hamilton Elementary.
  • My friend Darnell Harris saw the release of his new album, and I was privileged to sing with him alongside some incredibly talented and lovely people.
  • I joined the Tennessee Mass Choir, finding yet another home among Christian brothers and sisters, and finding a place to grow in and share the gift God has given me as a musician and a singer. It is nice to be a part of a performing, recording ensemble again.
  • Singing with my friend Stephen’s band for a wedding and reception. This was definitely a 2014 highlight. Great people and great music!
  • I left Fellowship Memphis to look for something deeper than what I had been experiencing. The path has been rough, and I cannot say that I’ve made all the right choices in that search, but I think it was the right choice. I better understand what I longed for and what I needed, but also the value and blessing of what I left behind. I am privileged to have many great friends and a family who care about me. That’s an amazing feeling!
  • I’ve found more joy than frustration in my work. As simple as it is, I love my job at Starbucks. I love the interaction with people and the simplicity of the work. I love the people I work with and the ones who come through our door for a cup of coffee. So, a momentary shout out to some of those friends who might be reading (and looking for their name in these pages). Clint, Diana, Mark, Jasper, D.K., Shelby, et al. Cheers! I’ve learned the joy of a trade of any sort is the pleasure of a job well done and the art of a finished task. We create all day long. And I’ve also found an outlet for my fix-it mentality having become the resident handy man. It gives me the opportunity to not only repair, but make things better. That, for me, is highly fulfilling.
  • My relationship with God has changed. I don’t know how to communicate what that means other than to say I feel like that’s a good thing. I don’t know exactly where it will lead, and there’s as much as good as bad in the pursuit, but somehow I feel like I’m headed in the right direction. If you seek me, you will find me.

So, while I didn’t finish the rough draft of my first novel, I feel the year was a success! Lord, thank you for the gift of 2014.

How was your 2014?

-Kirk

Leave a Reply

