Prayer

For someone who is involved in a ministry who’s focus is prayer, my life, until very recently, has been a desert. Prayer trickled through here and there, but much of it was filled with dry stream beds where supplications, intercession, confession and praise should freely flow. This dryness drew me back to a small book that has blessed me in the past – The Book of Common Prayer. Guided by several of these scripted prayers, I’ve found life once again in my desert. Today, I’d like to share a couple of those prayers that are dear to my heart.

For the Unity of the Church

O God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, our only Savior, the Prince of Peace: Give us grace seriously to lay to heart the great dangers we are in by our unhappy divisions; take away all hatred and prejudice, and whatever else may hinder us from godly union and concord; that, as there is but one Body and one Baptism, one God and Father of us all, so we may be all of one heart and of one soul, united in one holy bond of truth and peace, of faith and charity, and may with one mind and one mouth glorify thee; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

For Church Musicians and Artists

O God, whom saints and angels delight to worship in heaven: Be ever present with your servants who seek through art and music to perfect the praises offered by your people on earth; and grant to them even now glimpses of your beauty, and make them worthy at length to behold it unveiled for evermore; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Prayer awakens my heart and gives strength to my soul. It frees me to create, and it helps me to share in the heart of the Father, even when that heart is His great sorrow over the division of His Church. So my challenge is to remember, lest I forget and find myself once again lost in a desert of prayerlessness.

– Kirk

*note: I apologize for letting Friday’s chapter reviews go for the past two weeks. I will begin again with the next chapter in New Monasticism starting this Friday.

Leave a Reply

